13 comments on “More simple songs for beginners to practice on guitar

  1. Pingback: Learning to play basic open chords: Part 1 « Aaron Matthies’ Guitar Blog

  2. Pingback: Learning to play basic open chords: Part 2 « Aaron Matthies’ Guitar Blog

  3. Dude I love your blog, the simple songs have been great practice for me. I don’t know if you’re still updating, but please keep at it!

  4. please can someone tell me where i can find lots more tab like this?…google won’t!?…and thank you for these…some more to practice!…

  5. Thanks for the lessons, i’ve only been practicing less than a week and i’m doing rather well. These are easy to read and easy to understand.

  6. Happy birthday is wrong. It’s supposed to hit the 12th fret on the climax. Sing it to yourself and see what I mean.

    • Unfortunately you’re mistaken. Happy Birthday resolves to G (5th fret) as the song is in the key of G. G is the root note and simple melodies like this one almost always resolve to the root note. Resolving to the 12th fret (D) doesn’t work and makes it sound unresolved. D is the ‘perfect fifth’ in the key of G and it’s very rare for any song to resolve to the perfect fifth.
      The original tune to Happy Birthday is called ‘Good Morning to All’ – have a look at the music here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Happy_Birthday_to_You#mediaviewer/File:GoodMorningToAll.svg and you can see that it does resolve to G. If you don’t know how to read standard notation you’ll have to take my word for it. I guarantee this is the correct way to play the song.

      • You may have misunderstood me. 0 0 2 0 5 4. 0 0 2 0 7 5. 0 0 “12″ 9 5 4 2. 10 10 9 5 7 5. It’s supposed to hit the “12th” fret in the 5th measure. Also the song is in 3/4 time normally. Not common time. Pretty darn sure.

  7. You may have misunderstood me. 0 0 2 0 5 4. 0 0 2 0 7 5. 0 0 “12” 9 5 4 2. 10 10 9 5 7 5. It’s supposed to hit the “12th” fret in the 5th measure. Also the song is in 3/4 time normally. Not common time. Pretty darn sure.

    • Yes thanks for clarifying. I thought you meant the very last note. You’re right the original song uses the 12th instead of the 9th as I used. I wrote it out by ear from what I’ve been singing – so I guess I’ve been singing it wrong all these years 🙂 or my vocal range doesn’t reach the high D. Thanks for replying.

Leave a Reply

